Teen talk.

I was skimming through articles on Yahoo! when a title gave me an involuntary laugh: “How to understand ‘Teen Talk'”.  Yes, there are different intonations, phrases, word choices, etc. that can clue an individual in to the REAL meaning behind a statement or phrase, but really, should there be this type of dictionary article that gives you then ins-and-outs of popular and often used comments like “fine” and “and, yeah…”.  But as I was going through the article, hoping to sarcastically make jabs at the idiocy of this type of reading, I started getting a little flushed, began feeling my heart rate quicken and realized that I was beginning to panic about future discussions I could have with a son or daughter.  I remember being the teen, but as I was reading the phrases and all too exact meanings this author chose to give them, I kept thinking, “Well, yes, but…” and “Once they grow up…”.  I always used to think that since my parents had been through the teenage years themselves that they had to understand the emotional upheavals, the drastic lows and soaring highs, the anger and mentality that other immature teens hand out, so why did they have to ask so many questions and how come they never took MY side of an argument.  But here’s the thing, sitting here and reading this article about understanding “teen talk” made me realize that with time there is distance and maturity.  And more likely than not, when my teen is mouthing off or giving involuntary or voluntary clues to their inner-workings, will I be able to pick up on them?  Will I need a book or an article telling me what “fine” really means.  Well, maybe not “fine” because let’s face it, it is a universal way of showing people that everything is NOT fine.  But I have once again experienced a moment where I can see where I was and compare it to where I am.  I am growing up.  That’s so scary.